Easy and Simple Banana Bread

The other day my husband noticed a pile of four bananas that had seen better days.  Right before tossing them in the trash he paused and asked if I could make them into banana bread.  Since I didn’t have a go-to banana bread recipe I let google lead the way.  I came across this recipe on SimplyRecipes.com that was just that…simple.  No mixer needed, just a bowl, a fork, and a wooden spoon.  This recipe yielded a delicious, moist loaf with just the right amount of sweetness.  My favorite way to enjoy a slice is toasted with a smear of peanut butter….what’s yours?

Banana Bread (recipe from SimplyRecipes.com)

Ingredients

  • 3 or 4 ripe bananas, smashed
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1 cup sugar (can easily reduce to 3/4 cup)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour

Method

No need for a mixer for this recipe. Preheat the oven to 350°F (175°C).

With a wooden spoon, mix butter into the mashed bananas in a large mixing bowl.

Mix in the sugar, egg, and vanilla.

Sprinkle the baking soda and salt over the mixture and mix in.

Add the flour last, mix.

Pour mixture into a buttered 4×8 inch loaf pan.

Bake for 1 hour. Cool on a rack. Remove from pan and slice to serve.

Yield: Makes one loaf.

28 thoughts on “Easy and Simple Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Banana Bread | Recipes Happen

  2. Made this today as well. Had 5 bananas and used 1/2 cup of sugar. I also added toasted pecans, it’s a Texas thing, lol

  3. Since I am diabetic, will probably use zero calorie sugar sub., but also some sugar as well. … probably no more than 1/4 to 1/8 cup of sugar.too much sugar substitute can dry it out, but I may add a bit of apple sauce to moisten, but bananas do help
    make it moist as well. I am going to make this tomorrow. Thanks for the easy recipe. I will use walnut bits in it… yes I am from Texas….

  4. Mine is in the oven as we speak! I used a 1/2 cup of sugar and a 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce so it’s super moist. I’ll let you know how it turns out (:

    • How did this turn out for you, Shaina? I am making a batch now and I was thinking of using what you recommend here. Looking for less sugar and more moisture! Thanks!

  5. Just made this bread and I didnt have all purpose flour on hand so I used self rising flour and it tasted great diffently will try this again with some nuts for the second time .

  6. Doubled recipe and baking as I type. Smells delish. I didn’t decrease sugar too much but we shall see. Thanks for sharing. Super easy!

  7. Pingback: What I Made: Easiest Banana Bread Recipe | What Lindsey Likes

  8. In the oven now, made two loaves. I used 3/4 cup sugar and the remainder of light brown sugar. Also added almond slivers and coconut. Hoping this will be my go-to banana bread recipe as I didn’t even have to start my kitchenaide! Thanks!

  9. This recipe is awesome!! The only change I made was that I used Bob’s gluten free baking blend instead of the all purpose flour, and my boyfriend loves it!! Thank you for a great recipe!!

  10. Pingback: I Made That On Pinterest - Banana Bread

  11. I love this recipe 🙂 Today I made it without any added sugar at all and it is still so good! Slightly sweet and perfect slightly toasted with butter!

  12. Found this on Pinterest. Making it right now. There are so many recipes out there, what really caught my eye was this awesome picture with the “broken” crust on top…. Looks amazing.

  13. Used 1/2 cup sugar and took it out around 45 min. 1 hour would have been burned and dried out. Came out delicious.

  14. Just made this recipe and it came out amazing. I cut the sugar down to 1/3 c and added a squeeze of agave nectar and it’s more than sweet enough for me. I made muffins instead of a loaf. They are perfectly moist. I will enjoy them with some coconut peanut butter yum 😉

  15. I substituted 1/2 cup flax-chia blend (Hodgson Mill) for 1/2 cup of flour, and also substituted melted coconut oil for butter, also added 1/2cup chopped walnuts and reduced sugar to 2/3 cup. Turned out delicious and healthier. THANX 4 THE EASY NO MIXER NEEDED RECIPE!

  16. I’ve made this quite a few times, always so good! I add some brown sugar in sub for some of the regular kind and a little cinnamon. Trying it with blueberries this time!

Leave a Reply

