Cheesy Meat Loaf Minis

I wanted to first apologize for my recent hiatus.  My husband and I just moved into our first adult house and boy has it been a project!  My original plan to blog frequently once I began my summer vacation was, as you can see, a little delayed.  However, I can now say we are mostly unpacked, and I am ready to get to work in the kitchen.  I had actually photographed this recipe a few weeks back, but then my camera got shoved in a box and I just recently uncovered it.  This meat loaf recipe is an absolute go to for me.  Since the loaves are mini it cuts the cooking time down substantially, and the cheese pockets throughout the meat make this an absolute winner.  Cooking Light is one of a few magazines that I still subscribe to in the mail and I am frequently inspired by their healthy ideas.

Cheesy Meat Loaf Minis (adapted from Cooking Light)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup Italian breadcrumbs
  • Cooking spray
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1/2 cup ketchup, divided
  • 3 ounces cheddar cheese, diced
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 tablespoon prepared horseradish
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 1/2 pounds ground turkey (I used 93/7, but you can use ground beef too if that is what you prefer)
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten

Preparation

Preheat oven to 425°.

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add onion and garlic; sauté 3 minutes.

Combine onion mixture, breadcrumbs, 1/4 cup ketchup, and remaining ingredients.

Shape into 6 (4 x 2-inch) loaves on a broiler pan coated with cooking spray

Spread 2 teaspoons ketchup over each.

Bake at 425° for 25 minutes or until done.

Leave a Reply

