Almond and Parmesan Baked Tilapia

This week I am enjoying a relaxing staycation.  Since my husband is at work during the day, I have plenty of time to plan a home cooked meal for dinner each night.  It has been a long time since I spent a vacation at home- when my husband was in business school we took every break as an opportunity to travel.  Our goal was to choose places that neither of us had been and experience them for the first time together.  From empanada making classes and wine tasting in Buenos Aires to croissant making classes and more wine tasting in Paris, we really made the most of our time off (we obviously did more than eat and drink, but those are the moments that stick out for me).  It really has been nice to be home and take time for myself, since I feel like I never have any during the school year.  Tonight I make almond and parmesan baked tilapia and baked kale chips.  This meal was simple, healthy and delicious.  Oh and it’s gluten free!  I have to admit, fish is not typically a go-to meal for me, but I know that my husband likes it so I have been trying hard to incorporate it into our routine.  This recipe was easier than expected, and the end result was awesome-even for a non-fish loving gal.  Fishy success 🙂

Almond and Parmesan Baked Tilapia (adapted from Kalyn’s Kitchen)

  • 3-4 Tilapia filets, thawed if frozen
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 1/3 cup almond meal
  • 2 T finely grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. fish rub

Preheat the oven to 425.  Melt butter in a dish large enough to fit the fish filets (I did this in the microwave).  In another dish combine almond meal, parmesan cheese, garlic powder, pepper, and fish rub.

Dip fish filets, one at a time, in the melted butter and then coat with the almond meal mixture.  Make sure to cover the filet as much as possible- the coating makes it delicious!

Placed coated filets on a baking sheet (I covered mine with tin foil for easy clean up!) and bake for 20-30 minutes depending on your oven- I baked my filets for 25 minutes and they were perfect.

Remove from oven and enjoy! See baked yumminess above.

2 thoughts on “Almond and Parmesan Baked Tilapia

  1. Pingback: Almond and Parmesan Baked Tilapia « melisandemorgan

Leave a Reply

