Spicy Success

I recently attended a Super Bowl party where one of the guests brought along a tray of jalapeno poppers.  They were absolutely delicious and I immediately put this spicy little treat on my list of appetizers I must try to make.  After speaking with their creator I found out that they are quite the simple delight.  During my weekly voyage to the supermarket I walked past a basket of jalapenos that I knew were calling my name.  I gathered a handful and headed to collect the rest of my ingredients.  The final product was wonderful, and I was told (by the husband) that I must make these for our next dinner party.  Below is the simple recipe I used- nothing too fancy, but definitely worth it!

 

 

Jalapeno Poppers

Yield: 20 appetizers

Ingredients:

10 whole, fresh jalapeños
1 8-oz blocks of cream cheese, softened at room temperature
1 pound of bacon

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

2. Cut the jalapeños in half, lengthwise. Remove the seeds and membranes. Stuff each jalapeño half with cream cheese. Wrap each jalapeño half with bacon. Secure with a toothpick.

3. Bake in a preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes. ( After 25 minutes I turned the broiler on to crisp them up a bit)  Serve immediately at room temperature, and enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

